No One Cares About Your Damn Religion | Larry Womack

No One Cares About Your Damn Religion | Larry Womack.

…I guess I’m unusual because I would love to talk about this subject

Ok, so first off this guy makes a pretty wide statement saying every religion believes their “God” is ok with whatever he/she does. Are we talking about abortion, murder, stealing, lying…etc? Because the majority of people will have similar views on those topics and not be isolated thinking everyone else is crazy. ..Or maybe I’m the crazy one for thinking people are still morally sound (for the most part)

 

He then reaches back to the slave days and claims that people believed the Christian God was cool with slavery, last I checked, people are not perfect. I’m sure some did think that but there is a small problem, I’m not form the 1800s so I honestly can’t tell you what exactly went through their minds. Back then, it was a lifestyle, a common way of living, especially in the South. I’m not saying it’s ok, I’m only saying that people will falter and sin. Slavery is all throughout the Bible but doesn’t say anything about God being ok with it. Funny thing is many times, something eventful happens and slavery ends. (Moses rescues his people, Civil War ends slavery here). Mankind commenced slavery, and mankind is at fault. No one is blaming God for that.

 

Then he brings up Phil Robertson and some of his remarks on his beliefs. “Remember that big who-cares recently when Duck Dynasty’s chief mouth-breather Phil Robertson indicated that black people were happier under Jim Crow, literally working in fields? ‘They were godly; they were happy; no one was singing the blues.’” I can see why he brings this up because it makes his argument for his piece seem better. However, if I go out and ask a black man his opinion on slavery, do you think he’s going to say, Oh it wasn’t so bad. The whites were pretty friendly and we thank them. Absolutely not, he may get offended and he may even go off on me and start telling me off. This doesn’t make him crazy, but this doesn’t make him the spokesman of all black’s opinion on slavery. He is entitled to his own opinion just like Phil is. I’ve actually had the privilege to speak with Phil twice at Christian, Hunters, and Anglers conventions. No he isn’t crazy, he’s actually an extremely nice, God fearing man who is passionate about the outdoors, be to some he can come across a bit…different.

 

I’ll be honest, I have yet to read the Bible from beginning to end, but I know that the Old Testament is different from the New Testament. Not only in years but lifestyles as well. Larry Womack reaches back to the Old Testament and says, “The Bible says that we should execute rape victims, girls who lie about their virginity and adulterers. It says we’re not allowed to eat fat, rare meat, cheeseburgers, pork, leftovers, calamari or practically any other delicious thing. It says that touching a football is wrong. It says that wearing fabric blends is wrong. It says that shaving is wrong. It forbids women from speaking in church. It demands the death penalty for disobedient children, fortune tellers and people working on the Sabbath. It says that slaves should obey their masters “according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ.” The Bible even calls for the execution of animals that are raped. While it was probably a leap forward in terms of overall human morality, it is still the product of an environment that was far from enlightened and in many ways simply does not fit the modern view of God, Jewish, Christian or other.” After Jesus came to this earth, everything changed. No longer were people unable to speak to God themselves. Jesus came and died on the cross for everyone. All of this strict living and outlandish lifestyles were not necessary. Now what really made me laugh was after reading that, and thinking what I just told you now, Womack ends that paragraph with, “And don’t give me that Old Testament / New Testament nonsense — if I wanted to justify slavery with religious text, the New Testament would be my very best friend.” HELLO! I was like nice one, but you still do not understand my Lord and Savior. That’s ok…I guess. I’m not going to track him down and threaten his life or be a martyr. Larry can say and believe whatever he wants, that’s what is so great about this country (I wonder when we as Americans will lose that right sometimes).

I’ll wrap it up with this, not everyone is the same as I’m sure you are aware. So when people make a wide statement assuming that everyone is, does this or is doing this, it sort of makes me smile and shake my head. “Black people should be separated from white people because God. Global warming isn’t real because God. Gay people are wicked because God. Infidels must die because God. Except, really, it’s because people long ago discovered that religion is great for passing one’s will off as universal morality. It is a self-perpetuating, horrible cycle.” I don’t know who thinks or lives like this but I guess he knows someone out there?

In the end Womack does not care “…About Your Damn Religion” but I do. I would love to be able to talk to someone who doesn’t agree with me. I’m not going to try and shove my believes down their throat but just to be able to learn about someone else’s viewpoint and why they believe what they believe just helps be better understand where he/she may be coming from. It certainly can’t hurt you to be well educated.

One thought on “No One Cares About Your Damn Religion | Larry Womack

Leave a Reply

